?
Userpic

Maria's Musings

Comments on life, my college experience, and other bits of randomness

Name:
maria6289
Birthdate:
6 February
Website:
External Services:
  • maria6289@livejournal.com
  • MariaKristic
Schools:
I am 21. I am a college senior, majoring in Economics, and I am looking in to pursuing graduate study in the discipline after I finish college. I think I may want to teach it at a college level, but I am hoping I might get a teaching assistantship in graduate school, so that I would gain some experience with it while still in school.

I am an immigrant from Bosnia, so English is not my native language, but thanks to almost 17 years of living in the U.S. and emigrating at a very young age, it was very easy for me to learn. I also speak Spanish, which I studied in high school, but I must endeavor to practice it more now that I am not actively studying it, lest I should forget.

I live in upstate NY, and at the moment, while not in school in Massachusetts, I live with my family--parents and older brother. We also have two very fabulous animals of the variety of feathered--a cockatiel and a canary. I love animals, and we have had many in the past--parakeets, rabbits, chickens, and ducks.

I love music, whether playing or listening. In addition to the flute, which I have played for 11 years and am currently playing in my college's band, I have played the piano and violin; I have had to give them up due to other time commitments, but perhaps, I will pick them up again at some point. Music is a great de-stressor in my life, and I have it playing whenever I can.

I am a bookworm. I will read almost anything. I cannot read as much as I wish during the school year, but I try to make up for this in the summer.

I have recently discovered the spiritual path of witchcraft, and I have found much peace in traveling this path that is so much more aligned with what I believe than the faith in which I was raised. That is not to say that I do not respect other paths--quite to the contrary; one should follow whichever path feels right to her/him.

I identify as being part of the LBGT community. I am still in the process of coming out to myself, figuring out whether I am lesbian or bisexual at this point in my life, though I am heavily leaning in the direction of lesbian. As with the spirituality, I initially had some difficult moments on this front as well in accepting that I was not content with certain important aspects of the culture that is so heavily engrained in my native country, but I am seeing how wonderful it is to be true to myself/who I really am, and I am glad that I have been embarking on this process of self-discovery.

I am blind, and I use a cane to travel independently. I define myself as a person who just happens to be blind--it is just one aspect of who I am, and while it has shaped me to a certain degree, it is not the sole characteristic that defines me.

I plan on having my entries be a combination of public and private, depending on the content. I enjoy meeting new people, so feel free to add me. This is my first attempt at blogging, so thank you for following along with me!

Statistics